General News

Just In: EC Releases New Guidelines For The Registration

The final rule by the Apex Court paved way for the Electoral Commission to undertake the planned voter registration exercise in accordance with CI 96 and 126 as amended.

Many issues have popped up after this ruling, with NDC-led bloc compelling the EC to accept the existing voter ID card as a proof of citizenship for the registration which the Attorney General understands otherwise.

A release by the Electoral Commission indicates that the process begins on July 2, 2020 and ends on August 6, 2020. It  outlines new guidelines and requirements for the registration. These are the various guidelines outlined by the Electoral Commission. Take note of before you are being registered.

1. The process commences on 2nd July, 2020 and ends on August 19, 2020.

2. The registration will take place in each District office of the Commission throughout the country.

3. Qualified applicants of age above 60 years of age and above, pregnant women as well as lactating mothers and persons with disability may visit our District offices between 7am and 6pm each day of registration.

4. Applicants who wish to go to the District offices for their registration can download and print the registration form 1A and Guarantors form in colour (where necessary) form the Electoral Commission’s website at, have their details filled and present them to the registration team to facilitate the registration process.

5. Each applicant is to bring a valid passport or a Ghana Card which is also known as National Identification Card to prove their eligibility to register.

6.Any applicant who does not have any of the above documents needs to provide two persons who have already registered to serve as guarantors.

7. The Commission will enforce strict safety protocols at each district across the country to protect applicants from the COVID-19 pandemic.

8. The Commission urges all eligible applicants to register to enable them to boy4 during the forthcoming presidential and parliamentary elections.

This release was signed by the Director of Public Affairs of the Electoral Commission, Mrs Sylvia Annoh.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
Share This